Committing to Blogging For Real this Time…

I decided today after fighting and struggling to find the best e-commerce solution for WP websites, that I really should start blogging because I think it would help me and anyone else who stumbles upon my humble little website.  First of all, I have spent hours messing with various plugins, so it may help someone else and save them a little time, plus help me when I can’t remember next week which one I liked and which one I didn’t!

So it’s definitely going on the list to make this blog look better!  Coming soon.

Okay, so here’s my rundown of what I’ve found on the WP e-commerce plugins:

– WP E-commerce: this one is supposed to be the best, and I liked it when I got it installed, but I have had more problems and error messages come up than I count.  I’m really frustrated with that one.

– Mals-E: I’ve heard great things about this one and I checked it out, but I wish they had a specific WP plugin because I couldn’t customize the cart to look like the website.

– Ecwid was okay.  I thought ti was a little cookie cutter, and it did some funny things immediately with the CSS and layout, and plus the stylesheet was so comprehensive it spazzed out everytime I tried to save it.  I also didn’t like that you had to maintain the products offsite.

– Eshop was pretty neat actually, I liked it a lot.  Downfall: only accepts Paypal.

– QuickShop was okay too, but just wasn’t wild about it and now I don’t even remember the problem I had with it.

– Moving on to OSCommerce now.  Wish me luck guys.

3 Responses to “Committing to Blogging For Real this Time…”

  1. Eugene Says:

    > – Ecwid was okay. I thought ti was a little cookie cutter, and it did some
    > funny things immediately with the CSS and layout, and plus the stylesheet
    > was so comprehensive it spazzed out everytime I tried to save it. I also
    > didn’t like that you had to maintain the products offsite.

    Hi, could you describe these issues in detail? We really want to fix all the possible problems, so your feedback is very welcome.

    Thank you in advance!

    • dodelinedesign Says:

      Hi Eugene,

      I have to admit I’m totally shocked that you came across my little blog lol! Basically I was just frustrated because I installed it and thought it was pretty neat, but then when I added three products the third product and overflow went off of the backgrounds and off the page and just things like that. When I checked out the stylesheet I felt like there was very little guidance to help me know where to start for that, and on another note, being a designer, I always want to change the colors, and I would have liked some notations as to which ones were the “biggies” so I could have saved some time on that.

      Thanks for asking, how on earth did you come across me??

      Sarah

  2. Eugene Says:

    Thank you for the feedback, Sarah : -)
    I found your blog using Google Blog Search.
    Some of my comments are below.

    1. You’re right, if a page is too narrow, three products in a row may not fit. In this case it’s possible to show two products in a a row or make a page a bit wider.

    2. Comments in the CSS file is definitely the necessary thing. We will add them.
    We have a knowledge base and FAQ about our CSS themes(http://kb.ecwid.com/CSS-Faq), but I agree that it isn’t enough.

    3. Also if you have any question, you can contact us via forums, we love to help our users : -)

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

